Monday, 15 June 2015

LMS Wins Big at AIMS Awards!

LMS win Best Overall Show, Best Male Actor, Best Choreographer & Best Choral!

Limerick Musical Society won four awards at the annual Association of Irish Musical Awards in Killarney at the weekend for the musical ‘The Witches of Eastwick’, which they staged at UCH last March.

They brought home awards for Best Overall Show, Best Male Actor (Dave Griffin – who played the part of Darryl Van Horne); Best Choreographer (Niamh Twomey) and Best Choral.

The Association of Irish Musical Societies nominations are described as the ‘Oscars’ of musical theatre in Ireland and the banquet took place at the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney, where members of all musical societies in the country converged for the lavish weekend.

“This is a superb achievement for all members” said LMS PRO Gerry Ryan.

Dave Griffin is no stranger to theatre in Limerick, Dave’s musical theatre credits include principal roles with Cecilian Musical Society, Limerick Musical Society, Limerick Tops, Ballenby Productions and in recent years, Bare Space Theatre Company, appearing in everything from Showboat to Camelot, Pirates of Penzance to Singing in the Rain, Sweeney Todd and Into the Woods. Dave’s last appearance with Limerick Musical Society was in 2002 as Rico Castelli in Copacabana! Dave’s drama credits, particularly with College Players, include the role of Gregor Samsa in the acclaimed All-Ireland winning production of Metamorphosis by Stephen Berkoff, which toured internationally.

Niamh Twomey has performed in and choreographed many productions with the Limerick Musical Society in the past 14 years including Copacabana, CHESS, West Side Story, Hot Mikado, The Kind and I, Fiddler on the Roof, Thoroughly Modern Millie, Annie, The Hired Man, Pirates of Penzance, Oklahoma, Evita and Anything Goes.

This is not the first time that LMS have won big at the AIMS Awards. In 2002, Judy O’Connor won best actress and Paul Nash, best musical director for the Barry Manilow musical Copacabana. In 2004, for the Hot Mikado, Judy O’Connor received the laurels once again. In 2006 Niamh Twomey, won best choreographer for Anything Goes. In 2009, for the musical The King and I, Edel Heaney won best actress and Roisin Walsh, best singer. In 2014 the best actor category for the musical, Evita was won by Martin McNelis.